Stephen Curry called for travel after using James Harden’s “double stepback”

Although the Golden State Warriors came away with a close 127-123 win over the Sacramento Kings on Saturday, Stephen Curry didn’t win over the referees when he tried a move NBA fans have become quite familiar with this season.

Midway through the fourth quarter, Curry attempted James Harden’s infamous “double stepback” that he’s gotten away with on more than a few occasions. He was instantly called for a travel.

On his way back to the other end of the floor, he held up Harden’s No. 13 with his hands, essentially telling the officials to keep the same energy when the league’s reigning MVP uses the move.

“I’ve seen that once or twice,” Curry said after the game. “I tried it myself and obviously they got confused. They knew it was somebody different, so they called it. But it is what it is.”

You would think on a night where everything is going Curry’s way with 42 points and 10 3-pointers — passing Kyle Korver for the fourth most in NBA history (2,277) — he could get away with an extra step, or two.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s